Forum For the New Band of Floor Jansen !
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

 The Story...

Go down 

Posts : 107
Join date : 2011-01-11
Location : Brussel (Belgium )

PostSubject: The Story...   Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:44 pm

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Singer Floor Jansen needs no further introduction after 12 years of loyal service with After Forever. After the break of this band she knew she wanted to continue making metal! To accomplish this she joined forces with two additional songwriters to first compose, then record an album. The live band was formed after completion of the album!

The first composer to join this new collaboration was soon found in Waldemar Sorychta (Grip Inc, Enemy Of The Sun, ao). The second composer is After Forever colleague Joost van den Broek. The ReVamp sound has become a unique blend of the personal style we recognize from these musicians.
Floor's voice is already known for its wide range and variety. In ReVamp she shows the world she can do even more! From opera to raw screams; from rock to a light and almost whispered sound. She knows how to 'master the cords' and takes you along with her on a wild ride throughout the album!

The word 'revamp' literally means: to renovate, redo or revise. For Floor it got the symbolic meaning that this band puts new energy into her career as a singer, a next step but at the same time a continuation of her dream. The word 'vamp' indicates, with a wink, 'woman'. No vampires or slutty types, just a strong lady in charge of her passion.
The music is heavier than some of you might expect. Bombastic; but with heavy riffing. Complex and pounding drums mixed with melancholic strings. Crazy synth-sounds mixed with a beautiful choir. A wall of sound, yet transparent and versatile. And to finish this cake with a fine icing 3 special guests made this album extra special! Russell Allen (Symphony X) sings a beautiful duet with Floor. The fact their voices mix perfect together was proven before and on the song Sweet Curse they show ones again they are a magical duo.

Björn 'Speed' Strid (Soilwork) brings in power on a different level on the song 'Disdain'. His raw screams make this song the heaviest on the album and create a nice 'battle of the titans' with Floor. On Here's My Hell you'll hear Dutch master grunter George Oosthoek (ex-Orphanage). The variety of these guests make the album extra interesting from the first note off to very last.
The (live)band was completed early 2010. The band now consists of: Matthias Landes on drums, Jaap Melman on bass, Jord Otto on guitar, Arjan Rijnen on guitar and Ruben Wijga on keyboard.
The self-titled album has 13 tracks and presents a new dimension in the female fronted metalscene. It was released in June 2010 (Europe) and July 2010 (US) through Nuclear Blast.

photo : Promo CD ReVamp 2009
Info :
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Story...
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Secret Story 4
» [TV] La folie Tokio Hotel dévoilée dans Top Story
» Brecker's brothers story
» West Side Story suite de Leonard Bernstein
» Little Bob, la Story

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
ReVamp :: The Band :: The Band-
Jump to: